A

Friends of Children
Nepal

2021

School attendance is often difficult for children in rural Nepal where parents can offer little support in the learning process. Help is provided on school days as part of the homework centers, which is made possible by local teachers, as well as additional leisure activities offered on weekends and during holidays. All of this happens in close cooperation with parents and schools.

Donate to this project now

Projekte 2021
A
B
C

Donation level

37% target achieved
5.522 €
donated so far for this project. Of which 1.629 € through donations and 3.893 € through the returns from the endowment fund.
15.000 €
Our donation target
37 Donations
donated so far for this project.
74 Days
remaining for donations

Project name

Friends of Children

Location

Nepal

Project partner

Karin, Tom and Raphael got together in 2012 after many years of attachment to the country and its people decided to found the association “Friends of Children - Nepal e. V.” to help out in rural Nepal. The focus of the work is the enabling of education on different levels.
  Project partner's website

Project partner's aim

Expansion of the educational infrastructure through structural improvements to the homework centers in the project region. Implement conceptual development of the project in consultation with the communities.

Aim of the BeA Foundation

Financial support in maintaining and expanding the homework centers. Start-up approx. € 1,000 in the first year, around € 700 in the following years.

Donation period

1st January – 31st December 2021

Background

In Nepal, one of the poorest countries in the world, and especially in the rural regions there grows new generation of children who deserve new opportunities and possibilities. The older one Generation has grown up with the caste system and has allowed little education. What happens to children if their parents cannot read and write, who helps with homework or preparing for class work?

Project

Friends of Children – Nepal e.V. and the local partner association have set themselves the goal of opening up opportunities for children in the field of education. The association strives to enable children from socially disadvantaged families and communities to attend school and to receive help with homework and preparation for class tests. The first homework centre was founded in 2013. Hundres of children visit one of the currently 10 centres in the region every day. Teachers are local teachers or students, premises are provided by the communities, and parent committees act as liaisons between the school, parents, children and the association.

The feedback from all those involved over the past few years has been consistently positive, Visitor numbers are high and our additional leisure activities are popular with all children.

Goals

The foundation always receives new inquiries from communities who also would like to receive support for their children. The qualitative as well as quantitative expansion of the centers is not always easy. The fundraising for the salaries for project coordinators, teachers and for Overhead costs / materials and sometimes adverse circumstances (such as the coronavirus Pandemic or the great earthquake of 2015) delay the implementation of existing ideas.

Pilot project

Looking forward, we want to shape the homework centers even more in the sense of “helping people to help themselves” (initially as part of a pilot project). The idea is hand the management and organization of the centers over to the communities, so they can take over themselves.

Pictures of the project

Projekte 2021
A
B
C

A

Friends of Children
Nepal

2021

Kindern im ländlichen Nepal fällt der Schulbesuch oft schwer, da Eltern kaum Unterstützung im Lernprozess bieten können. Im Rahmen der Hausaufgabenzentren wird an Schultagen Hilfestellung durch lokale Lehrkräfte ermöglicht, sowie zusätzliche Freizeitaktivitäten an Wochenenden und in den Ferien angeboten. Dies alles geschieht in enger Kooperation mit Eltern und Schulen.

Jetzt für dieses Projekt spenden

Projekte 2021
A
B
C

Spendenstand

43% Ziel erreicht
5.116 €
für dieses Projekt gespendet. Davon 1.223 € durch Spenden und 3.893 € aus Erträgen des Stiftungskapitals.
12.000 €
Unser Spendenziel
28 Spenden
für dieses Projekt eingegangen.
152 Tage
verbleiben zum Spenden

Projektname

Friends of Children

Ort

Nepal

Projektpartner

Karin, Tom und Raphael haben sich nach mehrjähriger Verbundenheit zu Land und Leuten 2012 entschieden den Verein "Friends of Children - Nepal e.V." zu gründen, um im ländlichen Nepal zu helfen. Schwerpunkt der Arbeit ist die Ermöglichung von Bildung auf verschiedenen Ebenen.
  Projektpartner Homepage

Ziel des Projektpartners

Ausbau der Bildungsinfrastruktur durch strukturelle Verbesserungen der Hausaufgabenzentren in der Projektregion. Konzeptionelle Weiterentwicklung des Projekts in Absprache mit den Gemeinschaften umsetzen.

Ziel der BeA-Stiftung

Finanzielle Unterstützung beim Erhalt und Ausbau der Hausaufgabenzentren: Neugründung: ca. 1000€ im ersten Jahr, ca. 700€ in den Folgejahren.

Spendenzeitraum

1. Januar – 31. Dezember 2021

Hintergrund

In Nepal, einem der ärmsten Länder der Welt, und vor allem in den ländlichen Regionen wächst eine neue Generation Kinder heran, die neue Chancen und Möglichkeiten verdient haben. Die ältere Generation ist noch mit dem Kastenwesen groß geworden und hat oftmals wenig Bildung erleben dürfen. Wie geht es für Kinder weiter, wenn die Eltern nicht lesen und schreiben können? Wer hilft bei den Hausaufgaben oder dabei, sich auf Klassenarbeiten vorzubereiten?

Projekt

Friends of Children – Nepal e.V. und der lokale Partnerverein haben es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Kindern im Bereich Bildung Chancen zu eröffnen. Der Verein bemüht sich, vor allem den Kindern der sozial benachteiligten Familien und Gemeinschaften den Schulbesuch und Hilfestellung bei Hausaufgaben und der Vorbereitung auf Klassenarbeiten zu ermöglichen. 2013 wurde das erste Hausaufgabenzentrum gegründet – inzwischen besuchen täglich hunderte Kinder eines der aktuell 10 Zentren in der Region. Lehrkräfte sind lokale Lehrer*innen oder Student*innen, Räumlichkeiten stellen die Gemeinschaften, Elterngremien sind Verbindungsglieder zwischen Schule, Eltern, Kindern und Verein.

Die Rückmeldungen aller Beteiligten aus den letzten Jahren sind durchweg positiv, die Besucherzahlen hoch und unsere zusätzlichen Freizeitangebote bei allen Kindern beliebt.

Zielsetzungen

Den Verein erreichen immer neue Anfragen von Gemeinschaften, die sich ebenfalls Unterstützung für ihre Kinder wünschen. Der qualitative wie auch quantitative Ausbau der Zentren ist jedoch nicht immer einfach. Die Spendenakquise der Gehälter für Projektkoordinator, Lehrkräfte sowie für Overhead-Kosten/Materialien und manchmal widrige Umstände (wie zum Beispiel die Corona-Pandemie oder die großen Erdbeben von 2015) verzögern die Umsetzung bereits vorhandener Ideen.

Pilotprojekt

Wir wollen in Zukunft (anfangs erstmal im Rahmen eines Pilotprojektes) die Hausaufgabenzentren noch stärker im Sinne von “Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe” gestalten. Die Idee ist, mittelfristig Verwaltung und Organisation der Zentren in die Hände der Gemeinschaften zu übergeben, sodass diese sich selbst tragen.

Bilder vom Projekt

Jetzt Spenden

Projekte 2021
A
B
C