B

Women of Hope
Kongo

2018

Around 20,000 women and children fled from the violence of rebels to Beni (Congo). The project supports Women’s Self-Help groups to open businesses with the aid of small loans. From the repayment of the loans further women are also supported.

Donate to this project now

Donation level

58% target achieved
3.187 €
donated so far for this project. Of which 1.761 € through donations, 1.426 € from Foundation capital.
5.500 €
donation target
31 Donations
donated so far for this project.
44 Days
remaining

Project name

Women of Hope

Location

Kongo

Project partner

Dolsys e.V. was founded in 2007 by Hartmut Hofman in Wetzlar and helps people in need in Africa and Germany. The main principle is "helping people to help themselves" by utilising sustainable approaches.
  Project partner's website

Project partner's aim

The aim is to help Women’s Self-Help Groups of 60 women per group to support the start-up of small street businesses. The start capital is given in the form of a small loan, the repayment of which (until now 98% of loans have been paid back) is then used for the benefit of supporting other women.

Aim of the BeA Foundation

Opening a further Self-Help Group of 60 women, who will each received USD 150 in start-up aid.

Donation period

1st January – 31st December 2018

Escape from the Rebels

Beni, the provincial capital of the Northern Kivu region in the Congo resembles a beleaguered city. While the city centre is secured by the presence of UN peacekeeping troops and the Congolese Army, the outlying districts of the city and the hinterland are a death zone to which lives are lost daily. It is the women and children in particular who fall victim to the rebels. More and more people are fleeing from their fields to Beni. Currently the UN estimates that 20,000 people have fled. The consequences for the refugees are hard, but the whole region is also suffering at the hands of the situation.

New Hope

However there are signs of hope. As is frequently the case, it is the women who are taking their fate in to their own hands to help their children. Numerous Women’s Self-Help Groups have sprung up in which women come together and develop ideas about how they can create income and become independent from the help of their relatives. The women are well organised with elected leaders and clear rules. All of the decisions are made together. Decisions are discussed before they are made and arguments are shared. Ideas are only implemented when they are supported by the majority.

Donations don't just help once

Together with our partner on the ground CHAM (Community Hope Action Ministry) we are supporting multiple Women’s Self-Help Groups in the Beni region. The Women’s Self-Help group selects 60 women who receive a small loan to open a business and earn a livelihood. This loan is paid back by the borrower and flows back in to the finances of the Women’s Self-Help Group. The group can then select the people to form a new Women’s Self-Help group who then receive the funds from the repaid loan. Through this method a donation doesn’t just help once, it helps time and again and as a result has a bigger impact. People have a reason to live again and can look after themselves and their families, they can eat until they are full and buy clothes, organise the most basic needs and do it in a way that is self-determined and confident. Through the support of the Women’s Self-Help Group when they are choosing their business idea and borrower, the risk is minimised and the repayment quota is increased. Experience demonstrates that more than 98% of the loaned resources flow back in to the project.

Pictures of the project

B

Women of Hope
Kongo

Ungefähr 20.000 Frauen und Kinder sind vor der Gewalt von Rebellen nach Beni (Kongo) geflüchtet. Das Projekt unterstützt Frauen-Selbsthilfe-Gruppen bei der Eröffnung eines Geschäftes mit Hilfe von Kleindarlehen. Von den Rückzahlungen der Kredite werden weitere Frauen unterstützt.

Jetzt für dieses Projekt spenden

Projekte 2018
A
B
C

Spendenstand

14% Ziel erreicht
769 €
für dieses Projekt gespendet. Davon 769 € durch Spenden, € aus Stiftungskapital.
5.500 €
Spendenziel
18 Spenden
für dieses Projekt eingegangen.
164 Tage
verbleiben

Projektname

Women of Hope

Ort

Kongo

Projektpartner

Dolsys e.V. wurde 2007 von Hartmut Hofmann in Wetzlar gegründet und hilft Menschen in Not in Afrika und Deutschland. Dabei soll die Hilfe möglichst als "Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe" dienen, wobei generell nachhaltige Ansätze bevorzugt werden.
  Projektpartner Homepage

Ziel des Projektpartners

Ziel ist es, Frauen-Selbsthilfe-Gruppen von jeweils 60 Frauen den Start für ein kleines Straßengeschäft zu ermöglichen. Das Startkapital wird in Form eines Kleinkredites gegeben, dessen Rückzahlungen (bisher 98%) dann wieder anderen Frauen zugute kommt.

Ziel der BeA-Stiftung

Eröffnung einer weiteren Selbsthilfegruppe von 60 Frauen, die jeweils 150 USD als Starthilfe erhalten.

Spendenzeitraum

1. Januar – 31. Dezember 2018

Flucht von Rebellenopfern

Beni, die Provinzhauptstadt der Region Nordkivu im Kongo gleicht einer belagerten Stadt. Während das Stadtzentrum durch die Präsenz von Blauhelmtruppen der UN und der kongolesischen Armee weitgehend sicher ist, bilden die Randbezirke der Stadt und besonders das Umland eine Todeszone, die täglich Menschenleben fordert. Es sind besonders die Frauen und Kinder die den Rebellen zum Opfer fallen. Immer mehr Menschen fliehen von ihren Feldern nach Beni. Inzwischen schätzt die UN, dass 20.000 Menschen geflüchtet sind. Die Konsequenzen für die Flüchtlinge sind hart, aber auch die ganze Region leidet unter der Situation.

Neue Hoffnung

Doch es gibt auch Hoffnungszeichen. Wie so oft sind es die Frauen die ihr Schicksal in die eigenen Hände nehmen um ihren Kindern zu helfen. Es sind zahlreiche Frauen-Selbsthilfe-Gruppen (FSG) entstanden, in denen sich die Frauen austauschen und Ideen entwickeln, wie sie Einkommen erzielen können um unabhängig von der Hilfe ihrer Verwandten zu werden. Die Frauen sind gut organisiert mit gewählten Leiterinnen und klaren Regeln. Alle Entscheidungen werden gemeinsam getroffen. Vor der Entscheidung wird diskutiert und die Argumente vorgebracht, nur wenn eine Mehrheit die Idee unterstützt wird sie umgesetzt.

Spenden helfen nicht nur einmalig

Gemeinsam mit dem Vor-Ort-Partner CHAM (Community Hope Action Ministry) unterstützten wir mehrere FSG in der Region Beni. Die FSG wählen 60 Frauen aus, die ein Kleindarlehen für die Eröffnung eines Geschäftes erhalten, um damit ihren Lebensunterhalt zu verdienen. Dieser Kredit wird von den Darlehensnehmerinnen zurückgezahlt und fließt zurück in den Finanztopf der FSG. Die Gruppe kann dann die Personen auswählen, welche in einer neuen FSG die zurückgezahlten Darlehen neu erhalten. Dadurch hilft eine Spende nicht nur einmal, sondern immer wieder und erzielt damit eine große Wirkung. Die Menschen haben wieder einen Grund zu leben, können sich und ihre Familien versorgen, können sich satt essen und Kleidung besorgen, die einfachsten Grundbedürfnisse des Lebens organisieren und das selbstbestimmt und souverän. Durch die Beteiligung der FSG bei der Auswahl der Geschäftsideen und der Darlehnsnehmerinnen wird das Risiko minimiert und die Rückzahlungsquote steigt. Die Erfahrung zeigt, dass mehr als 98 % der ausgeliehenen Mittel wieder zurückfließen.

Bilder vom Projekt

Jetzt Spenden

Projekte 2018
A
B
C